Friday, November 2, 2012

Bicycle Helmet Law for North Carolina

"On July 5, 2001, North Carolina became a safer place to ride bicycles. Governor Michael Easley signed 
the "Child Bicycle Safety Act" into law. This law requires every person under 16 years old to wear an 
approved bicycle helmet when operating a bicycle on any public road, public bicycle path, or other public right-of-way. In addition this law specifies that all child passengers falling at or below 40 pounds/40 
inches, must be carried in a separate restraining seat. Any parent or legal guardian who knowingly allows a child to ride without a helmet or to ride as a passenger not secured in a restraining seat (when 
applicable), will be in violation of the law. Violation of the law carries a $10 civil fine. The fine may be 
waived upon the receipt of satisfactory proof of purchase of helmet or restraining seat. This law became 
effective October 1, 2001." --

Go here to see the full legislative law.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog